About Oral Mucositis Mucositis grading scales

The presence and severity of oral mucositis may be determined by clinician-based scoring or by patient-reported outcomes.

There are three major reasons to assess mucositis severity:

  • to determine the stomatotoxicity of a particular cancer-treatment regimen
  • to help in the management of the patient
  • to evaluate the efficacy of a potential mucositis intervention.


Most Common Clinician-based Evaluation Scales:

The best known and currently most used scales for Oral Mucositis are:

  • World Health Organization (WHO) Handbook for reporting results of cancer treatment (1979)
  • National Cancer Institute - Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE)
  • Radiation Therapy Oncology Group (RTOG) Criteria
  • The Oral Mucositis Assessment Scale (OMAS).


WHO Grading scale developed by the World Health Organization.
Read more          
RTOG Acute Radiation Morbidity Scoring Criteria developed by the Radiation Therapy Oncology Group.
Read more          
NCI-CTC Common Toxicity Criteria developed by the The National Cancer Institute.
Read more          
OMAS The Oral Mucositis Assessment Score.
Read more          
HELSINN This website is for Ex U.S. residents only Last Update: 19.02.2018
Sitemap Privacy and Cookies Policy Terms of Use